Four Luther College baseball players were honored recently by being named to the Iowa Athletic Conference baseball team.

Eric Pittman, a junior short stop from Northfield, Minn., was named to the first team. It was his first IIAC honor. He was the only Norse to be so honored.

Three Norse were named to the second team. Alex Byom earned his first IIAC honor. He is a senior starting pitcher from Ettrick, Wis. Freshman Mitch Knippenberg started his career strong with a conference honor. He is a catcher from Lakeville, Minn. Senior Andy Briggs earned all-IIAC honors for the first time in his career. He is an outfielder from Waverly.

IIAC honors

Pitcher of the year - Ryan Doty, Wartburg; Position player of the year - Nick Stein, Coe; Coach of the year - Joel Holst, Wartburg

First team - Jon Ringblom, Jr., SP, Buena Vista; Drew Arends, So., SP, Coe; Will Petrosky, So., SP, Loras; Scott Benson, Sr., SP, Wartburg; Jeremy Gerardy, Jr., RP, Loras; Brandon Wesels, Fr., C, Buena Vista; Tyler Craig, Jr., 1B, Simpson; Weston Foxx, Jr., 2B, Buena Vista; Ryan Powers, Jr., 3B, Wartburg; Eric Pittman, Jr., SS, Luther; Nick Schlecht, Jr., OF, Buena Vista; Spencer Kuehn, Sr., OF, Dubuque; Brett Crable, Jr., OF, Simpson; Andrew Krehbiel, Sr., OF, Wartburg; Robbie Rushing, Jr., DH, Central; A.J. Reuter, So., UT, Coe

Second team - Ryan Goetzinger, Sr., SP, Central; Ben Cottrell, Sr., SP, Loras; Alex Byom, Sr., SP, Luther; Ben Rettenmeier, Jr., SP, Wartburg; Judson McKown, Jr., RP, Central; Michael Schinstock, Jr., RP, Wartburg; Mitch Knippenberg, Fr., C, Luther; Joe Paletta, Jr., 1B, Buena Vista; Drew Yoder, Sr., 1B, Wartburg; Nick Martin, Sr., 2B, Dubuque; Adam Ariola, Jr., 3B, Jesse Munsterman, So., SS, Buena Vista; Sam Stetzel, Sr., OF, Central; Jordan Gawronski, Sr., OF, Dubuque; Mark Jablonski, Jr., OF, Loras; Andy Briggs, Sr., OF, Luther; Jake Barr, Jr., OF, Simpson; Ryan Scheetz, Sr., DH, Buena Vista; Blake Heitmeier, Sr., UT, Simpson

Honorable mention - Ben Strellner, Sr., SP, Coe; Josh Eastman, Jr., SP, Dubuque; Ethan Hale, Sr., 2B, Simpson