The accolades continue to come in for local football players as the Iowa Newspaper Association (INA) released its list of all-state players Monday evening.

Decorah's Josey Jewell was named the Class 3A captain.

Jewell was a workhorse for the Vikings this season on both offense and defense.

Jewell led the Viking rushing attack with 1,314 yards on 166 carries, averaging 7.9 yards per attempt. He had 21 rushing touchdowns, with a long of 89. He also caught 11 passes for 91 yards.

He was second in the district in total tackles with 100 (62 solo, 38 assists). He also had 12 total tackles for a loss, five sacks and two fumble recoveries.

In the state championship game, he rushed for 160 yards on 23 carries, for a 7.0 yards-per-carry average, to go with three touchdowns in the 49-21 win over Sioux City Bishop Heelan. He also caught one pass for 23 yards and completed his only throw. On defense he had three solo and two assisted tackles and an interception.

For his efforts, Jewell was named to the Des Moines Register's defense all-elite team and first team all-district out of Class 3A District 5. He was named first team by the INA, Des Moines Register and Class 3A District 5 last season.

Other captains were Joel Lanning, Ankeny, Class 4A; Paul Brown, Spirit Lake, Class 2A; Andrew Wellik, Emmetsburg, Class 1A; Tyler Odneal, Wapsie Valley, Class A; and Austin Halls, Murray, 8-man.

These six team captains will be in the running for the third annual Ed Thomas Mr. Football Award, presented by the Iowa Newspaper Association. The award recognizes a high school football player who has demonstrated excellent performance on the football field and exemplary character in all aspects of life and will be presented in the spring.

Decorah honorees

In addition to Jewell being named a first team defensive lineman for the Class 3A, seniors James Ostlie and Andy Hovden were named first team. Ostlie was recognized for his offensive line play while Hovden was recognzied for the defensive line. Both are first time INA-honorees.

Ostlie was named first team offensive line by the district and the Des Moines Register this year. Last year he earned first team all-district recognition. For the year, he helped the Viking offense gain 4,790 total yards.

Hovden was named first team all-district and first team by the Des Moines Register and was first team all-district in 2011. Hovden was second on the team in tackles with 90, making 42 solo and 48 assists, along with 20 tackles for a loss and 11 sacks.

Junior running back Holt Johansen was named to the second team. This is Johansen's first INA honor. He was named first team all-district this season. Johansen rushed for 1,166 yards on 150 carries, averaging 7.8 yards per touch. He also scored 16 touchdowns.

Senior kicker Josh Lee was also named to the INA second team. Lee was named second team kicker a year ago and has also garnered first team all-district the past two seasons. Lee connected on 6-of-7 field goals while having 43 touchbacks.

Josh Ihde, senior, was named third team defensive back. This is Ihde's first INA honor. He was also named second team all-district. Ihde led the team in interceptions with five. He also had 37 total tackles (27 solo, 10 assists).

South Winn duo

The South Winn football team also had some honorees.

Senior Colton Hageman garnered third team Class 1A recognition as a linebacker. He also was named first team all-state by the Des Moines Register and first team all-district this year and was first team all-district in 2011. Hageman was second on the team in tackles with 90, along with 13 tackles for a loss. Hageman also set the school record for rushing yards this season despite missing nearly two games due to injury.

Garrett Bohach was named third team quarterback. This is Bohach's first INA honor. He was also named first team by the district. Bohach completed 57-of-94 passes for 1,262 yards and 15 touchdowns, along with 543 rushing yards.