Approximately 80 Decorah High School students will make the trip to Ames Feb. 18, to perform at the All-State Speech Festival at the Iowa State Center on the ISU campus.

Ten groups received outstanding ballots at the Northeast District State Large Group Speech and received a nomination to be part of the festival, which will include performances by the best speech students from across the state of Iowa. Complete results and programs can be found on the IHSSA website at

DHS Varsity speech groups receiving performance nominations include choral reading, one solo mime, one group improvisation, one short film, one musical theater, and two television news. Cast lists for those groups are as follows:

Choral Reading directed by Molly Holkesvik and Thomas Houdek: “Rise Up” Sylvia Betteridge, Cassidy Carolan, Emily Franzen, Maggy Hovden, Jordyn Hussain, Helen Johnson, Shania Kelly, Jenna Raddatz, Lauren Raddatz, Emma Rooney, Sonja Sacquitne, and Anna Spencer

Musical Theater directed by Thomas Houdek, Carrie Kauffman, and Gabe Twedt: “Spamalot” Ross Gentry, Gus Hayes, Carston Krieg, Ben Leschensky, Abby Trewin, and Richard Weis

Group Improvisation directed by Kristen Underwood: Devin Brevig, Avery Dugger, Andrew Kephart, and Austin Myli

Solo Mime directed by Molly Holkesvik, Carrie Kauffman, and Gabe Twedt: “Robot Romance” Keshawn McCain

Short Film directed by Molly Holkesvik: “Pressure” Nick Bockman, Augusta Casterton, Nathaniel Cowie, Claudia Cowie, Vita Domnenko, Avery Dugger, Maddie Fahey, Jenna Galligan, Caroline Knox-Reid, Christopher Miculinich, Rylee Monteith, Alex Nesset, Kaitlyn Rooney, Brynne Valkosky, and Marissa Weis

Television News directed by Molly Holkesvik and Gabe Twedt: “LNN: Literary News Network” Michael Cook, Erin Dintamin, Maddie Fahey, Mara Frieden, Dawson Holkesvik, Evie Holyoake, Jonah Johnson, Carston Krieg, Makinzie Monroe, Sarah Mumford, Jeny Na, Josh Nierengarten, Abby Pedlar, Daniel Willie, and Carina Yee

Television News directed by Molly Holkesvik: “FOCUS: Loss of Innocence/Society’s Gain” Josephine Berlage, Devin Brevig, Chance Elton, Isaac Fish, Kayle Fjelstul, Marissa Foels, Parker Grinna, Kara Hooper, Madelyn Jermier, Maria Lea, Ann Meirick, Jacob Roher, Max Sparrow, Paul Strand, and Kasey Thompson

DHS Ninth speech groups receiving a performance nomination include one radio broadcasting. Cast list included as follows:

Radio Broadcasting directed by Gabe Twedt: “KSOS” Lillian Grouws, Nils Holkesvik, Amanda Kuehner, Isaac Roberts, Britta Swanson, and Kari Tangen

DHS Varsity speech groups receiving non-performance nominations include two ensemble actings. Cast lists for those ensemble acting groups are as follows:

Ensemble Acting directed by Kristen Underwood: “Rx” Owen Burgdorf-Hibbs, Makinzie Monroe, Sonja Sacquitne, Abigail Toussaint, and Sam Wilson

Ensemble Acting directed by Carrie Kauffman: “The Complete History of America, abridged” Camille Dahlquist, Kaylee Knight, Billy Lange, Josh Nierengarten, and Richard Weis