It was a banner year for voter turnout in Winneshiek County, according to Winneshiek County Auditor Ben Steines.

County voters cast a total of 11,141 ballots, of which 5,867 were absentee. Total number of registered voters is 13,049.

In the county races, Dennis Karlsbroten (R) beat Bill Ibanez (D) and Bob Watson (NBP) for District 1 Board of Supervisors; Floyd Ashbacher (R) topped Rachel Vagts (D) and John Franzen (NBP) for District 2; Dean Martin Thompson (D) defeated Incumbent Les Askelson ( R) for District 3; John Logsdon (R) beat Clark Goltz (D) in District 4; and Mark Kuhn (D) won over Lonnie Pierce (R) in District 5.

In the county sheriff's race, Incumbent Lee Bohr (R) triumphed over Chuck Ihde (Ind.).

The Winneshiek Medical Center Board will welcome Steve Hildebrand and Karl Jacobson, who defeated Jim Tweedy and David Kratz.

In the state races, Winneshiek County voters chose Mary Jo Wilhelm (D) over Merlin Bartz (R) for State Senate District 26; John Beard (D) over Michael Breitbach (R) for State Senate District 28; Joshua Byrnes over Eric Hungerford (D) for State Representative District 51; and Michael T. Klimesh (R) over Roger Thomas (D) for State Representative District 55.

Local voters also voted to retain Supreme Court Judge David S. Wiggins.

For U.S. Representative District 1, Winneshiek County voters picked Bruce Braley (D) over Ben Lange (R), Gregory Hughes (NBP), and George Todd Krail II (NBP).

Voters in the county chose President Barack Obama (D) over Candidate Mitt Romney (R).

For more coverage of the election, see Thursday's Decorah Journal.