The Winneshiek County Protectors, a newly formed group concerned with frac-sand mining, recently elected a Board of Directors at its organizational meeting.

Directors include Craig Cutting, Dick Janson, Steve McCargar, Birgitta Meade, Lyle Otte, Boyd Wasson and Amy Weldon.

Supporters have organized themselves into the following three areas:  research and legislation, communications and fundraising. The Board and members will meet Wednesday evenings at 7:30 pm at the United Methodist Church basement. Supporters of the Winneshiek County Protectors are invited to attend the March 20 and 27 meetings.

For more information, call Lyle Otte at 382-3137.