EDITOR'S NOTE: Decorah Newspapers received this information after press deadline for Thursday's Decorah Journal.

The Decorah High School National Honors Society will induct 40 new members during its annual ceremony Sunday, January 24, at 3:00 p.m. in the high school auditorium.

This year's program will include speeches by Mollie King, Allie Canoy, Tori Dahlen, Becca Eastwood, Sam Wettach, and Andrew Peter. Several student musicians will also be featured including: Emma Breitenstein, Erica Bjelland, Clara Bergan, Jonathon Winter, Madison Johansen, Tanner Tjossem, Mollie King, Annelise Keune, Colin Zidlicky, and Nathan Lee.

In order to be inducted into National Honors Society, a student must have maintained a 3.5 grade point average, and have been selected by a committee of faculty on the basis of leadership, scholarship, character and service to others.

The current National Honor Society members are Sarah Amundson, Gunjan Arora, Clara Bergan, Kayla Burggraf, Rachel Burras, Allie Canoy, Samantha Cuvelier, Victoria Dahlen, Elizabeth Dovenberg, Katherine Dovenberg, Matthew Dovenberg, Steven Drost, Dacia Dykstra, Rebecca Eastwood, Lainey Erion, Nadya Fedotovskikh, Kristen Flak, Devin Gilbertson, Carl Hanson, Emily Harman, Megan Hudson, Dane Huinker, Robert Jewell, Annelise Keune, Mollie King, Alexis Kuennen, Kelsie Larson, Alexis Lloyd, Kristen Malanaphy, Gavin Markee, Joshua Martin, Megan McDonough, Alexis Meyer, Catherine Moeller, Mariah Payne, Andrew Peter, Breanna Tangen, Megan Tappe, Logan Thompson, Amanda Twait, Samuel Vanney, Charlie Vermace, Kathryn Werner, Samuel Wettach, Slade Williams and Samuel Zook.

The new National Honor Society senior inductees for this year are Clayton Burke, Michael Cary, Amy Lowery, Kaia Miller, and Eric Ostlie.

The new National Honor Society junior inductees for this year are Benjamin Bernatz, Eliza Betteridge, Evan Blodgett, Lindsey Bohr, Bethany Davidson, Michael Eastwood, Allison Fretheim, Danielle Fulsaas, Alison Gomersall, Sarah Hammell, Addie Hanson, Devon Hovey, Bryce Hoyme, Madison Johansen, Michael Kirkeberg, Jonathan Knudson, Nathaniel Lee, Thomas Locke, Hannah Maher, Montana McCabe, Kelsey Mitchell, Paige Rustad, Cody Sacquitne, Gavyn Samuelson, Grant Schwartz, Karah Shindelar, Casey Smith, Axel Snow, Martin Stalberger, Tanner Tjossem, Paul Vanney, John Werner, Mitchell White, Bianca Wilbur, and Emily Wilson.

The public is invited to the event and to the reception in the high school cafeteria following the ceremony.

Allysen Lovstuen and Stephanie Steines are the faculty advisors of the National Honor Society at the Decorah High School.