Approximately 10 percent of eligible voters in Winneshiek County turned out to cast ballots in Tuesday's primary election.

There were 1,408 votes cast. Polls throughout the county closed at 9 p.m. Tuesday. Votes from all 11 precincts and absentee votes are included in the unofficial results released by the Auditor's Office officials at the courthouse Tuesday night.

District 1 supervisor

Republican Dennis Karlsbroten, with 181 total votes, defeated his opponent Dean Darling who earned 152 votes for the District 1 supervisor seat. Karlsbroten will face incumbent Democrat Bill Ibanez in the general election.

Bob Watson of rural Decorah also intends to run for District 1 supervisor with no party affiliation. Candidates who are nominated by petition can begin filing their papers for the general election in August.

District 2 post

There were three Republicans competing in the primary to be the District 2 supervisor candidate on the general election ballot. Floyd Ashbacher won the primary with 134 total votes. Ron Onsager had 73 votes and Wayne Jordahl had 56 votes.

Ashbacher will face Democrat Rachel Vagts in the general election.

District 5

Incumbent Lonnie Pierce (R) of Bluffton faced a challenge from former county supervisor Gordon Hunter of rural Decorah in the Republican primary. Pierce won the primary with 121 votes, compared to 76 for Hunter. The only Democrat on the ballot for District 5 was Mark Kuhn of Fort Atkinson.

House 55

In the Republican race for the Iowa House District 55 nomination, Michael T. Klimesh of Spillville won the Winneshiek County primary Tuesday with 489 votes, beating out Republican challengers Dustin Noble with 366 votes and Marshall A. Nessa with 56 votes.

State Rep Roger Thomas, an Elkader Democrat is running for the new District 55, which also was redrawn based on population as part of the state's redistricting following the 2010 census.

Cities in District 55 include Calmar, Castalia, Clermont, Decorah, Elgin, Elkader, Fayette, Fort Atkinson, Hawkeye, Jackson Junction, Ossian, St. Lucas, Spillville, Wadena, Waucoma and West Union. House members serve two-year terms.

U.S. House contest

Republicans Ben Lange of Independence won the most Winneshiek County votes for the Republican race for the U.S. House of Representatives District 1 post. Lange received 602 Winneshiek County votes, compared to 414 for challenger Rod Blum.

The winner will take on Democratic incumbent Bruce Braley of Waterloo for the U.S. House of Representatives District 1 this fall.

The First Congressional District encompasses 20 Northeast Iowa counties.