At right, Iowa Dairy Princess Mikayla Lien with alternate Rylie Pfughaupt. (Submitted photo)
At right, Iowa Dairy Princess Mikayla Lien with alternate Rylie Pfughaupt. (Submitted photo)
For the second year in a row, the Iowa State Dairy Princess hails from Winneshiek County.
Mikayla Lien of Calmar was crowned the 61st Iowa Dairy Princess during an evening ceremony at the Iowa State Fairgrounds in Des Moines last week. She follows fellow South Winneshiek graduate Mariah Schmitt of Fort Atkinson, who wore the crown last year.
Since the first Iowa State Dairy Princess was crowned in 1955, a total of 14 princesses and alternates have been crowned: Laura Vick Clark, 1969 princess; Lynee Kruse Klaus, 1971 princess; Rachel Leistikow Murany, 1972 alternate; Marcia Broghamer, 1973 alternate; Laurie Uhlenhake Thompson, 1978 princess; Cathy Hemesath Howell, 1981 alternate; Dawn Hovey Kucera, 1990 alternate; Jennifer Rediske, 1997 alternate; Dawn Stendel Mausser, 2001 alternate; Kayla Hotvedt Lyon, 2004 princess; Kaitlin Hanson, 2006 alternate; Karla Hageman, 2013 alternate; Mariah Schmitt, 2014 princess and Mikayla Lien, 2015 princess. 

About Lien
Lien, daughter of Gary and Patty Lien, will spend the year serving as a goodwill ambassador for Iowa’s dairy farmers. Throughout her year-old reign, she will make public appearances to connect with consumers and help them understand the dedication of dairy farm families to their cows, their land and the milk they produce.
Lien is a student at the University of Northern Iowa, where she is a communications major. She receives a $550 scholarship from Midwest Dairy Association, which sponsors the dairy princess program.
Lien also was recognized for her presentation.
Outgoing Iowa Dairy Princess Schmitt is the daughter of Carl and Terry Schmitt. Her reign will end following the Iowa State Fair and Lien will begin her duties Sept. 1.