As of Wednesday morning, Iowa House District 55 Incumbent Mike Bergan had an eight-vote lead over his opponent, Kayla Koether, but the race was too close to call, according to Winneshiek County Auditor Ben Steines.
Bergan of Dorchester is completing his first, two-year term in the Iowa House.
District 55 includes most of Winneshiek County, except the northwest corner of the county, northern Fayette County and a portion of western Clayton County. Bergan, a Republican, received 6,902 votes in Tuesday’s general election and Koether a Decorah Democrat received 6,894 votes.
Election results in all three counties will be canvassed next week. In Winneshiek County, the canvass is scheduled for Tuesday at noon in the courthouse annex. Steines said any absentee ballots that were postmarked Monday, Nov. 5, that are received before the canvass will automatically be added to the vote totals. Provisional ballots not yet counted due to the need for additional information from the voter could also be added to the count, Steines said.
Because the difference in votes for the two candidates is less than one percent of the total votes cast, a bond is not required to call for a recount.
“There’s no such thing as an automatic recount. You have to file the paperwork,” Steines said.
Any candidate for the office, even a write-in candidate, can request a recount, the auditor said. A recount request must be filed within three days after the canvass, which makes the deadline 5 p.m. Friday, Nov. 16 with the auditor’s office of the county where the recount is requested.
In Winneshiek County, Koether received 4,686 votes, 53.3 percent, while Bergan received 4,096 votes, 46.6 percent.

District 51
In the other area legislative race, Republican Jane Bloomingdale of Northwood defeated Democrat Tim Knutson of Northwood by a vote of 7,291 to 5,164.
Bloomingdale is serving her first, two-year term as the Iowa House District 51 representative. District 51 includes the northwest corner of Winneshiek County and all of Worth, Mitchell and Howard counties.
In Winneshiek County, Bloomingdale received 618 votes, 61 percent, to Knutson’s 395 votes, 39 percent.

Blum defeated
In the only federal race on the ballot in Winneshiek County, U.S. District 1 House of Representative Rod Blum, a Republican, was defeated by Democrat Abby Finkenauer. Finkenauer received 163,348 total votes while Blum received 152,940 and Libertarian Troy Hageman received 10,288 votes. In Winneshiek County, Finkenauer received 5,092 votes, 52 percent, while Blum received 4,360 votes, 44 percent. Hageman received 391 votes, 4 percent.

Governor Kim Reynolds won election with a total of 662,634 votes over her Democratic challenger Fred Hubbell, who received 623,105 votes. Libertarian Jake Porter received 21,096 votes.
In Winneshiek County, Reynolds received 4,835 votes, 49 percent, Hubbell received 4,777 votes, 48 percent, and Porter received 116 votes, 1.2 percent.
Incumbents Attorney General Tom Miller, a Democrat; Secretary of State Paul Pate, a Republican; Treasurer of State Michael Fitzgerald, a Democrat; and Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig, a Republican; were all re-elected Tuesday.

70 percent turnout
Of Winneshiek County’s 14,162 registered voters, 9,935, 70 percent, cast ballots, Steines reported.
There was an 81 percent voter turnout for the 2016 presidential election and a 63 percent turnout for the 2014 midterm election.