Winneshiek County is among 26 counties, which will have federal disaster aid available to them.
The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to the state of Iowa to supplement state and local recovery efforts in areas affected by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding during the period of June 13-24.
The President’s action makes federal funding available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged in Allamakee, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Dickinson, Emmett, Fayette, Franklin, Hancock, Humboldt, Ida Kossuth, Lyon, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sac, Sioux, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury and Wright counties.
Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.