Less than 10 percent of Winneshiek County’s registered voters turned out for Tuesday’s primary election.
Total voter turnout was 9.7 percent -- 1,258 out of the county’s 13,016 registered voters.
Republican Joni Ernst will challenge Democrat Bruce Braley this fall for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Tom Harkin. Rick Stewart of Cedar Rapids plans to file as an independent candidate for the Senate seat.
In Winneshiek County, Ernst was also the top vote getter – 482 – of the field of five Republican candidates. The other candidates and their Winneshiek County vote totals are Sam Clovis, 44; Mark Jacobs, 148; Scott Schaben, 1; and Matt Whitaker, 45. Braley was unopposed in the primary and received 511 votes in Winneshiek County.
Republican Rod Blum will face Democrat Pat Murphy this fall in the District 1 U.S. representative race. Braley currently holds the position.
Murphy received 264 votes in Winneshiek County. The four other Democrats who ran for the position and their Winneshiek County vote totals are: Swati Dandekar, 88; Anesa Kajtazovic, 72; Dave O’Brien, 20; and Monica Vernon, 81.
Blum received 451 votes in Winneshiek County. The two other Republican candidates and their Winneshiek County vote totals are Gail Boliver, 63; and Steve Rathje, 169.

Iowa Governor Terry Branstad won the Republican primary for governor.
He was challenged by Tom Hoefling in the primary. Branstad received 596 votes in Winneshiek County and Tom Hoefling received 109 votes.
Jack Hatch was the only Democratic candidate for governor on the primary ballot. He received 476 votes in Winneshiek County.

State representative
There were no primary challenges for local state representative openings.
Newcomers Democrat Rick Edwards and Republican Darrel Branhagen are the only candidates for state representative, District 55.
In District 51, incumbent Republican Josh Byrnes and Democrat Laura Hubka will be on the ballot this fall.

County races
There will be two races for county supervisor this fall; none of the candidates were contested at the primary.
Democrat John Beard is running against Republican District 1 Supervisor Dennis Karlsbroten and Democrat Barbara Massman is challenging District 2 Supervisor Floyd Ashbacher.
County officials seeking re-election unopposed are Treasurer Wayne Walter and County Attorney Andy Van Der Maaten, both Republicans.
Winneshiek County Recorder Teresa Bockman also is seeking re-election unopposed as an independent candidate.

Other state offices
State Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald, a Democrat, was the only candidate on the primary ballot for his office as was Iowa Attorney General Tom Miller, also a Democrat.
The following state offices will have contests this fall:
• Secretary of State – Paul Pate (R) and Brad Anderson(D)
• State Auditor – Incumbent Mary Mosiman (R) and Jonathan Neiderbach(D)
• Secretary of Agriculture – Incumbent Bill Northey (R) and Sherrie Taha (D)
The general election is Tuesday, Nov. 4.