Seven members of the Decorah baseball team were recognized by the Northeast Iowa Conference as being named all-NEIC.

First team

Receiving first team nods were Cael Luzum and Tyler Thompson.

Luzum, a junior, is the lone return honoree, having been named to the second team as a sophomore. Compiling a 5-0 record on the hill, Luzum posted a 0.76 earned run average (ERA) in his 28 innings as pitcher. He struck out 44 opposing batters. At the plate, the junior hit .324 this season, with a .582 on-base percentage. In 15 contests, he scored 13 runs, had one triple and three doubles and stole 12 bases.

Thompson led the Vikings with a .390 average while garnering a .432 on-base percentage. The junior infielder had a team-high 16 hits, including five doubles and 14 RBI.

Second team

Kody Bodensteiner, Seth Shindelar and Keenan Tyler were named to the second team.

Bodensteiner, a junior, was recognized for his play in the outfield. He hit .389 with a triple and topped the stolen bases category with 14 and driving in five runs.

Shindelar, a senior pitcher and outfielder, batted .235 for the season. He had a .328 on-base percentage with 12 hits. Climbing the hill for eight appearances, the senior had a 3-2 mark with a 3.74 ERA and recording 25 strikeouts.

Infielder and pitcher, Tyler hit .294 with an on-base percentage of .379 with 15 hits, including three doubles. The sophomore led the team with 15 RBI and had a trio of stolen bases. On the mound, Tyler finished with a 1-2 record and 2.50 ERA.

Honorable mention

Earning honorable mention selections were Briggs Duwe and Brody Young.

During his junior campaign, Duwe pounded out a .209 batting average with a .346 on-base percentage. In his 43 at-bats, he collected nine hits, including two doubles and drove in eight runs with a pair of stolen bases.

Young finished his sophomore season with the third-best average for the Vikings at .333 and had an on-base percentage of .488. Driving in 12 runs, Young had 11 hits, including three doubles in his 33 at-bats.


NEIC-All Conference

First team – Cael Luzum, Jr., P, Decorah; Tyler Thompson, Jr., IF, Decorah; Carter Henry, IF, Crestwood; Kade Munkel, OF, Crestwood; Austin Hemann, UT, New Hampton; Hunter Pesek, OF, New Hampton; JJ Ritter, IF, Charles City; Jeremy Chaplin, IF, Waverly-Shell Rock; Kaden Dewey, UT, Waverly-Shell Rock; Tyler Heine, OF, Waverly-Shell Rock; Brodey Key, C, Waverly-Shell Rock; Payton Leonard, P, Waverly-Shell Rock

Second team – Kody Bodensteiner, Jr., OF, Decorah; Seth Shindelar, Sr., P, Decorah; Keenan Tyler, So., IF, Decorah; Carter Schellsmidt, C, Waukon; Hunter Bye, IF, Crestwood; Gabe Grabau, UT, Crestwood; Drake Wemark, IF, New Hampton; Tait Arndt, IF, Charles City; Elliott Sinwall, OF, Charles City; Chase Carpenter, OF, Waverly-Shell Rock; Carson Graven, UT, Waverly-Shell Rock; Chance Key, P, Waverly-Shell Rock

Honorable mention – Briggs Duwe, Jr., IF, Decorah; Brody Young, So., IF, Decorah; Isaac Roe, IF, Waukon, John Ronan, UT, Waukon; Kaden Barry, C, Charles City; Jeremiah Chapman, OF, Charles City; Atticus Parrott, UT, Charles City; Connor Rochford, P, New Hampton; Gage Voshell, OF, Oelwein