Six members of the Decorah softball team were named to the all-Northeast Iowa Conference all-NEIC list, released last week.

First team

Avery Shelton earned her second conference honors as the Vikings’ utility player, pitching and playing infield. On the rubber, the junior posted a 6-5 record with a 4.71 earned run average (ERA), recording 52 strikeouts. In the batter’s box, Shelton finished the season with a .354 average and .466 on-base percentage. She connected for 17 hits, which included three home runs and two doubles to drive in a team-high 20 runs in her 48 at-bats.

Second team

Representing Decorah on the second team are Ella Kittelson, Ellie Luzum and Isabel Ihde. For Kittelson and Luzum it’s their second straight honor on the second team list, while it marks Ihde’s first nod.

Sitting behind the plate as the Vikings’ catcher, Kittelson rapped out 13 hits and drove in 13 hits in her 52 at-bats. The junior batted .250 and garnered an on-base percentage of .350.

Anchoring centerfield, Luzum earns her second all-conference nod. The sophomore hit .289 with 13 hits and 12 RBI while stealing seven bases. Of Luzum’s 13 hits, two were home runs and three were doubles.

Ihde rang up a .404 average in the batter’s box with 19 hits and 10 RBI. Playing the infield, the junior had 47 at-bats and rapped out three doubles and stole five bases.

Honorable mention

Bryar Duwe and Emma Johnson were both named honorable mention.

Duwe earns her first postseason honor as an infielder for Decorah. The sophomore topped the hitting chart with a .408 average with 20 hits, including one home run, one triple and four doubles. She drove in 10 RBI and stole a team-high 12 bases.

Johnson, a junior, compiled a .256 average and .482 on-base percentage. In her 39 at-bats, she had 10 hits and nine RBI to go with seven stolen bases. In the pitcher’s circle for seven games, Johnson finished the season with a 2-2 record and 4.72 ERA with 16 strikeouts.


NEIC-All Conference

First team – Avery Shelton, Jr., UT, Decorah; Annika Headington, Jr., IF, Waukon; Laken Lienhard, Sr., P, Crestwood; Paetyn Blockhus, Jr., OF, Crestwood; Kacey Olson, Sr., IF, New Hampton; Dani Reetz, Jr., P, Charles City; Ashley Hoeft, So., C, Charles City; Lisabeth Fiser, Sr., IF, Charles City; Allie Cross, Jr., IF, Charles City; Lydia Staudt, So., OF, Charles City; Alex Litterer, Sr., OF, Charles City; Naomi Goede, Jr., IF, Oelwein

Second team – Ella Kittelson, Jr., C, Decorah; Isabel Ihde, Jr., IF, Decorah; Ellie Luzum, So., Decorah; Olivia Ollendieck, Fr., IF, Crestwood; Lexi Hoppe, Jr., IF, Crestwood; Kyleigh Foster, So., UT, Crestwood; Kiersten Tenge, Sr., P, New Hampton; Rachel Riken, Sr., OF, New Hampton; Kiki Connell, Jr., Charles City; Haley Eckerman, Sr., IF, Waverly-Shell Rock; Zoey Risner, Fr., OF, Oelwein

Honorable mention – Bryar Duwe, Fr., Decorah; Emma Johnson, Jr., Decorah; Kryslynn Ruppert, Sr., Crestwood; Regan Griffith, Jr., Waukon; Ali Russler, Fr., New Hampton; Sadie Gebel, Jr., Charles City; Ava Ellis, Fr., Charles City; Marley Hagarty, Jr., Waverly-Shell Rock; Lindsey Miller, Jr., Waverly-Shell Rock; Kennedy Lape, Jr., Oelwein