The Decorah Nespapers
October 18, 2017
Warriors All-UIC harriers
The South Winn cross country teams are ready to compete tonight (Thursday, Oct. 19) in the State-Qualifying Meet at Eagle Grove. Members of the squads earning all-UIC honors last week were (l-r) Paxten DeVilbiss, Melissa Ward, Emmett Schwartzhoff, Ashley Kriener, Austin Tieskoetter, Felicity Taylor, Derek Dietzenbach, Olivia Massman and Paul Hageman. (Photo by Becky Walz)
  • The state qualifying meets for all cross country teams across the state are tonight, Thursday, Oct. 19.
    0 comment(s)
  • Kee Hawks end Trojan netters’ season
    The fight that the Turkey Valley volleyball team (8-26 overall, 1-7 UIC) had Tuesday night in the regional contest versus Kee High was evident to all in attendance as the Trojans fought for every point. Unfortunately TV’s season concluded at the hands of the Hawks, 3-0.
    0 comment(s)
  • Trojans wrap up regular season with UIC tourney
    The Turkey Valley volleyball team went 2-1 at a triangular at Rockford Thursday, Oct. 12, before competing in Saturday’s Upper Iowa Conference tournament held at North Fayette Valley in West Union.
    0 comment(s)
  • Iowa’s young hunters will get to experience the first cackle and flush of the year during the youth only pheasant season Oct. 21-22.
    0 comment(s)
  • The Decorah freshman football team collected its third win of the season Friday over Charles City, in overtime, 15-8.
    0 comment(s)
  • UIC crown to South Winn boys; girls second
    It wasn’t an easy race to the finish at the Upper Iowa Conference cross country meet Thursday for the South Winn teams as the boys’ team stood atop the podium; the girls’ team finished second at the Tri-City Golf Course near Luana.
    0 comment(s)
  • Warriors allow Lake Mills 22 yards offense
    Sitting in second place in Class 1A District 2, the South Winn football team (5-3 overall, 5-1 district) is looking to secure a 2017 playoff berth.
    0 comment(s)
  • Vikes still in hunt for playoff berth
    A full team effort of aggressive defense, an improved offensive attack and senior night led to the Viking’s (6-2 overall, 4-2 district) success in its 34-0 win over Charles City on the gridiron Friday.
    0 comment(s)
  • Two members of the Decorah diving team competed at the Bobcat Invite held in Marshalltown Saturday.
    0 comment(s)
  • Vikings fourth at NEIC tourney
    It was a good display of what the Decorah volleyball team can do as it finished fourth in the Northeast Iowa Conference tournament Saturday in Cresco.
    0 comment(s)
  • SW netters top UIC play; second at tourney
    Locked in a tight battle throughout the evening, the South Winn volleyball team (16-13 overall, 8-0 UIC) defeated Kee High 3-0 to accomplish its goal of remaining undefeated in UIC play Thursday in Lansing. Set scores were 26-24, 26-24 and 25-20.
    0 comment(s)
  • It must have been an easier week picking winners as the top three contenders, David Luhman, Kevin Schmitt and Kyle Christen each missed just one game in week five of the pigskin picks football contest.
    0 comment(s)
  • Defensive adjustments push TV past Indians
    A sluggish start transitioned to an air attack to the end zone, courtesy of the Turkey Valley football team (5-3 overall, 2-3 district) in its 52-14 win over Clarksville Friday in Jackson Junction.
    0 comment(s)
  • Two different sports, two wins.South Winn senior Felicity Taylor doesn’t sit still for long.
    0 comment(s)
  • Friday night scoreboard
    Area teams avoided the rain showers and delays as Decorah, South Winn and Turkey Valley all hosted teams in District play Friday evening.
    0 comment(s)

©2017 Decorah Newspapers
Footer Logos

Decorah Newspapers P.O. Box 350 – 107 E. Water Street Decorah, IA 52101

Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved

Our app is now available!