Matt Pyle
Matt Pyle
Matt Pyle, a 2007 graduate of Luther College, will be one of three former national champions who will be inducted into the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Division III Wrestling Coaches' Association's Hall of Fame.

The other two members of the 2014 class are Dustin Hinschberger of Wartburg College and Jesse Armbruster of Augsburg College.

The induction ceremony will take place Thursday, March 13, 2014, prior to the NCAA III National Wrestling Championships that will be held in Cedar Rapids March 14-15.

About Pyle

A native of Merrill, Kan., Pyle is considered one of the best wrestlers in Luther College history.

During his four years in a Norse uniform, he tallied a record of 108-26 that included 50 falls. He is the only Luther wrestler to earn All-America honors four times. He placed third in 2004, fourth in the 2006 and won national championships in 2005 and 2007, all at 149.

His resume also included two Iowa Conference titles, and he was named the league's Outstanding Wrestler his senior year.

Pyle also excelled in the classroom, named a National Wrestling Coaches Association Scholar All-America twice during his career.

Pyle will become the fifth Luther wrestler to be inducted into the NWCA Division III Coaches' Association Hall of Fame. He will join Jeff Bouslog, '81, who was inducted in 1993; Dan Boos, '80, who was inducted in 2001; Garrett Kurth, '03, who was inducted in 2008; and Garrett South, '05, who was inducted in 2013. Paul Solberg, '61, and current head coach Dave Mitchell were inducted as coaches in 2005 and 2010, respectively.