The Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) has concluded its 2016-17 regular season calendar.
For the 15th straight year, Wartburg College finds themselves atop the IIAC All-Sports Championship Trophy standings, recognizing the conference’s top overall program. Luther College won the Marjorie Giles Women’s All-Sports Championship Trophy for the tenth time in school history. The Knights claimed the Elmer Hertel Men’s All-Sports Championship Trophy for the fifth straight year, and 21st time in school history.

Luther wins
Luther maintained its winter lead to earn the schools 10th Marjorie Giles Women’s All-Sports Trophy with 60.9 points.
Of the nine IIAC women’s sports, Luther placed second or higher in seven. The Norse won titles in tennis, soccer (t-1st) and softball. To go along with their three titles, Luther claimed second place finishes in volleyball and basketball; and third place finishes in cross country and golf.
Seeing its streak of nine consecutive women’s trophy come to an end, Wartburg finishes this year in second with 59.7 points. The Knights took home second or better in six of the nine IIAC women’s sports. They were led by conference titles in volleyball, basketball and outdoor track and field. Wartburg also collected second place finishes in cross country, golf and indoor track and field.
A golf title, runner-up finish in softball and a third place finish in soccer placed Central in third with 44.8 points. A conference championship in soccer (t-1st), along with a runner-up finish in outdoor track and field and third place in basketball, earns fourth place for Loras with 42.7 points.
Concluding their first year in the IIAC, Nebraska Wesleyan finishes in fifth place with 41.1 points. With 39.5 points, Coe earns a sixth place finish. The Dubuque women placed seventh this year with 26 points. Buena Vista finishes eighth in the standings with 23.8 points. Simpson placed ninth in this year’s standings with 21.5 ponts.
Luther has now won a conference second-best, 10 Marjorie Giles Trophies. Wartburg leads the conference with 14 total trophies. Central is third with nine. Simpson has won four trophies and Loras owns one.

Men take sixth
For the fifth straight year, the Wartburg Knights won the Elmer Hertel Men’s All-Sports trophy, totaling 58.1 points this year. Central was this year’s runner-up with 55.5 points. Loras earned a third place finish with 53.6 points.
The University of Dubuque finished in fourth place with 45.05 points. Nebraska Wesleyan University rounds out the top five with 44.95 points. Luther placed sixth with 44.2 points, earning a conference championship in golf. In seventh place is Coe with 41 points. Eighth place is Simpson with 35.3 points. Buena Vista rounds out this year’s men’s standings in ninth with 27.3 points.
Wartburg has won five consecutive Elmer Hertel Trophies and leads all schools with 21 first place finishes. Central has won the trophy 13 times while Luther owns 11 trophies. Loras has won twice and Simpson has one win.

All-sports trophy
With all 19 men’s and women’s Iowa Conference Championships decided, Wartburg College claims its 15th consecutive All-Sports trophy. The Knights totaled 17 points, having secured six conference titles, four runner-up finishes and two third-places. The Knight’s six conference titles came in volleyball, women’s basketball, wrestling, baseball, men’s outdoor track and field and women’s outdoor track and field.
Central College finished second in this year’s standings with 15 points. The Dutch claimed this year’s women’s golf championship. Tied for third with 13 points are Loras College and Luther College. Loras won conference titles in women’s soccer (t-1st), men’s cross country, men’s soccer and men’s basketball (t-1st). Luther captured league championships in women’s tennis, women’s soccer (t-1st), softball and men’s golf.
With 10 points, Nebraska Wesleyan University earns a fifth place finish in its first year competing as members of the IIAC. The Prairie Wolves won conference championships in women’s cross country, women’s indoor track and field and men’s basketball (t-1st). The University Dubuque finished in sixth place with nine points, having won the men’s indoor track and field championship. Behind conference titles in football and men’s tennis, Coe College finishes in seventh place with seven points. With three points each, Buena Vista University and Simpson finished tied for eighth.
Wartburg has won or shared all 15 of the conferences Combined All-Sports Trophies, which began in 2002-03. Luther College shared the All-Sports Trophy with Wartburg in 2010-11 and 2011-12.