A combined 12 athletes from Turkey valley and South Winn softball teams were named to the Upper Iowa Conference all-league softball team recently.

Turkey Valley had eight athletes, while South Winn had four recognized.

First team

Named to the first team were Trojans Jaedyn Winter, Kara Reicks, Josie Weber and Aleah Hackman. Joining the quartet are Warriors Mary Frana and Eryn Luzum.

Winter, a senior centerfielder, was an honorable mention selection a season ago. The southpaw led the Trojans at the plate with a .544 batting average, posting a .687 on-base percentage. She produced 31 hits, including a triple and six doubles. She had 21 RBI and seven stolen bases, scoring 39 runs.

Reicks was named to the second team a season ago. The sophomore catcher posted a .365 batting average and finished the season with an on-base percentage of .365. Reicks knocked out 23 hits, including a home run and five doubles during the short season and drove in 15 runs.

The primary pitcher for Turkey Valley, Weber was 11-2 this season, throwing nearly 62 innings for her second first team honor. She produced a 1.48 earned run average (ERA), giving up 13 earned runs and striking out 73. At the plate the sophomore had the second-best batting average at .544, with an on-base percentage of .590. In 64 at-bats, she had nine doubles and drove in 24 runs.

Anchoring first base, Hackman receives her first all-UIC nod. The junior led the team with 33 RBI, hitting .390 with an on-base percentage of .473. In 59 at-bats, Hackman belted out three home runs and seven doubles with 23 total hits.

Honorable mention a year ago, M. Frana hit .317. With 19 hits, she had a .349 on-base percentage. She was second on the squad with 11 RBI to go with one home run, one triple, six doubles and 10 runs scored.

Shouldering the majority of the pitching duties, Luzum twirled in 17 games for 101 innings to post an 8-8 mark with a 2.50 ERA, giving up 36 earned runs and striking out 114 batters. In her 41 at-bats, the sophomore connected for eight hits, including two doubles and driving in nine runs.

Second team

Turkey Valley’s Jalyssa Blazek and Jordan Lukes were named to the second team.

Blazek, a junior left fielder finished with a .400 batting average, good for third on the Trojan squad, producing an on-base percentage of .481. With 65 at-bats, Blazek rapped out 26 hits, including a home run and 11 doubles. She drove in 21 runs to earn her first UIC honor.

From the third base and the pitcher’s mound, Lukes hit .246 with a triple, three doubles within her 14 total hits, driving in 11 runs. In the pitcher’s circle, the senior posted a 4-0 record in her 28 innings of twirling with an ERA of 4.55. She garnered nine strikeouts in the season.


Honorable mention

Two athletes from each team were recognized as being named honorable mention.

For Turkey Valley, Emma Hanson and Sophia Adams were chosen.

Hanson, a junior designated player, stepped into the batter’s box 48 times, collecting 13 hits including a pair of doubles for a .271 batting average. Her on-base percentage was .352, as she drove in 11 runs for the Trojans.

A junior outfielder, Adams hauled in 11 balls for put-outs to earn her first all-UIC nod.

South Winn recognized seniors Liz Tieskoetter and Mackenzie Schirmer.

Tieskoetter earns her first conference honor as the team leader in RBI with 19. The senior shortstop had 60 at-bats, knocking out a triple and three doubles for a .267 average and .286 on-base percentage. 

Donning the catcher’s gear, Schirmer concluded her senior campaign with her first UIC nod with a .190 average and .377 on-base percentage. Schirmer hammered out eight hits and drive in eight runs.


UIC-All Conference

*denotes unanimously decision

First team – *Jaedyn Winter, Sr., Turkey Valley; Kara Reicks, So., Turkey Valley; Josie Weber, So., Turkey Valley, Aleah Hackman, Jr., Turkey Valley; Mary Frana, Jr., South Winn; Eryn Luzum, So., South Winn; Lauren Haberichter, So., MFL MarMac; Jordan Schubert, Sr., MFL MarMac; Kristie Dibert, Sr., Kee; Bryleigh Rouse, Jr., West Central

Second team – Jalyssa Blazek, So., Turkey Valley; Jordan Lukes, Sr., Turkey Valley; Abby Reichter, Jr., North Fayette Valley; Emma Ney, Jr., North Fayette Valley; Alyssa Bohr, So., North Fayette Valley; Makayla Peters, Sr., Kee; Keri Picha, Sr., MFL MarMac; Sierra Palmer, Sr., Clayton Ridge; Marlee Squires, Jr., West Central; Delaney Sherf, Fr., Central

Honorable mention – Emma Hanson, Jr., Turkey Valley; Sophia Adams, Jr., Turkey Valley; Liz Tieskoetter, Sr., South Winn; Mackenzie Schirmer, Sr., South Winn; Macy Manning, Jr., Kee; Ashlyn Seitz, Sr., Kee; Tessa Halverson, So., North Fayette Valley; Taylor Ney, Sr., North Fayette Valley; Brinan Berger, Sr., MFL MarMac; Abby Schellhorn, So., MFL MarMac; Mackenzie Mohs, Jr., Postville; Sierra Mohs, Fr., Postville; Rosita Hepperle, Sr., West Central; Emma Michels, So., West Central; Abby Cummer, Jr., Central; Maddy Wille, Jr., Central; Jaylyn Moore, So., Clayton Ridge; Savannah Meyer, Jr., Clayton Ridge