Postseason brackets for Class 2A and 1A for the baseball tournaments were released recently.
South Winn is currently ranked No. 8 in Class 2A. The Warriors received a bye in the first round of the District 8 bracket. They will face the winner of North Fayette Valley and Sumner-Fred Tuesday, July 15, in New Hampton, with the game beginning at 5 p.m. The district final is Saturday, July 19, at 7 p.m. in New Hampton. Teams on the other side of the bracket are the Chickasaws, Osage and Saint Ansgar.
The winner from District 8 battles the winner from District 7 in the substate final Tuesday, July 22, at 7 p.m. in Mason City, with the winner headed to state. Teams in District 7 are West Fork, Eagle Grove, Clarion-Goldfield, Forest City, Central Springs and Garnery-Hayfield/Ventura.
Turkey Valley is in Class 1A. The Trojans are in District 7, with a first-round opponent of Tripoli at Denver at 5 p.m. Tuesday, July 15. The district semifinal is Thursday, July 17, at 7 p.m. in Denver against the winner of Denver and Dunkerton. The district finale is in Postville Saturday, July 19, at 7 p.m.
The District 7 champion faces the District 8 winner Tuesday, July 22, at 7 p.m. in Oelwein.
Decorah is in Class 3A. Those brackets haven’t been released yet.
The state baseball tournament runs July 25-August 2 in Des Moines. Class 1A quarterfinals are July 25-26 while Class 2A quarterfinals are July 28.