Thirteen members of the Decorah football team were recognized this season by being named all-district in Class 3A, District 3. 

Eleven of them are first-time honorees.

The staff at Decorah were also recognized as the district coaching staff of the year.

First team

Nine Vikings were named to the first team.

Linebacker Cael Luzum earned his second all-district nod for his efforts on the gridiron which included 52 total tackles, of which 42 were solo stops and six for a loss.

Joining Luzum on the first team for the second time in his career is Dakota Swatek. The senior defensive tackle was third in tackles for the Viking squad with 28.5 tackles. He had 6.5 tackles for a loss and 19 solo tackles to go with one fumble recovery.

Joseph Bockman led Decorah in receptions with 36 catches for 614 yards, going into the end zone five times. The wide received also handled punt and kick-off returns, carrying the pigskin seven times on punt returns for 112 yards and had nine kick-off returns for another 140 yards.

Defensive back Jacob Pipho received his first honor on the turf with 19 total tackles, 18 of them being solo takedowns with one interception.

Briggs Duwe stood in the pocket for most of the 2020 season as the Vikings’ quarterback, completing 82-for-166 passes for 1,072 yards and 10 touchdowns. As a dual threat, the senior rushed 74 times for another 296 yards and three scores.

Leading Decorah in tackles, Keenan Tyler picked up his first all-district honor with 74.5 total tackles. He had 56 solo tackles with 1.5 sacks and six tackles for loss from the linebacker position.

Providing the kicking game for the Vikes was Brody Young. He had 41 kick-offs for 2,212 yards and 12 touchbacks. The junior also was 3-for-6 in field goals with the longest being 35 yards, while converting of 26-for-27 PAT. Young punted 29 times for 967 yards, averaging 33.3 yards per punt.

Charlie Robinson was a member of the offensive line which provided 2,489 yards of offensive and 30 touchdowns throughout the season. On defensive, the senior had 24 total tackles, four going for a loss with 19 solo stops.

Also earning his first all-district honor was senior offensive tackle Mason O’Hara, who helped the Vikings gain 3,043 all-purpose yards, averaging 311.1 yards per game.

Second team

The senior quartet of Sawyer Bulman, Kody Bodensteiner, Nicholas Einck and Jackson Rolfs were named to the second team.

Bulman recovered a pair of fumbles to go with his 12 solo tackles with 14.5 total stops.

Making 12 receptions for 159 yards and two TDs was Bodensteiner.

Coming out of the backfield, Einck was one of the Vikings’ running backs eating up 318 yards on 64 carries of the pigskin. He also had 27 total tackles.

Rolfs was fourth on the Decorah squad in total tackles with 27, including 17 solo stops and three tackles for loss.


The Vikings also excelled in the classroom this fall, putting 17 on the academic all-district list.

Seniors honored were Cael Luzum, Baylor Bohr, Kody Bodensteiner, Jackson Rolfs, Charles Robinson, Noah Breitenbach-Dirks, Edwin Holyoake and Kyle Renken. Honored from the junior class were Jacob Pipho, Keenan Tyler, Ryan Johanningmeier, Austin Wilkins, Brody Young, Brayden Reiser, Joseph Hjelle, Thomas Ostlie and Kendall McCain.