The 2020 football season will feature nine regular season games and 16 playoff qualifiers in all classes. Playoff procedures – district champions earning automatic berths, Ratings Percentage Index ranking the remaining at-large qualifiers — will stay the same in 3A, 2A, 1A, A and Eight Player. All 16 playoff spots in 4A will be considered at-large and determined via RPI.

Following months of study, the Iowa High School Athletic Association’s Board of Control decided Wednesday, Feb. 5, to shift football to a one-year scheduling cycle and adjust the regular season format of large-school Class 4A over competitive concerns.

In response to ongoing classification discussions and the implementation of a success model to 4A, the board used the special session to approve football districts for just one season, dropping the typical two-year scheduling alignment as a one-time measure. As a result, the IHSAA will reassess football formats again following the 2020 season.

All three area teams will see new and familiar opponents in the 2020 season. The schedules, including non-district opponents will be released at a later date.


Decorah remains in Class 3A, District 3 for next season in the six-team district with little change. 

Remaining in the district with the Vikings are Charles City, Waterloo East, Waverly-Shell Rock and West Delaware. 

The only team leaving the district is Independence, who dropped to Class 2A. In the Mustang’s place will be Epworth (Western Dubuque).

“We know each year that we will have a challenging schedule, and with this district, it will be the same,” said Decorah head coach Pat Trewin. “One thing that I was happy about is that we have six-team districts again. This allows us the opportunity to schedule some local, rival schools and not to have to travel quite so far if we can get non-district games that meet both schools’ needs. We look forward to the season, but are really excited about the current and upcoming school activities.”

South Winneshiek

The Warriors remain in Class A District 4, but will see a slew of new opponents while staying closer to home as the district moves from seven teams to six.

In the district are Clayton Ridge, MFL MarMac, Postville, Starmont and Wapsie Valley. The remaining foes from the previous two years are Postville and Starmont, although the Warriors faced off the MFL MarMac as a non-district contest.

“I’m excited about our district and having some of our conference rivals on the schedule,” said South Winn head coach Jason Ohrt. “I’m disappointed in the overall process and where we currently are as a state with high school football. I feel as if we have taken a giant step back in doing what’s best for our kids. I’m hopeful that together we can figure out a solution that is reasonable for all our school districts in 2021 and put our student athletes first.”

Turkey Valley

It’s a whole new slate of opponents for Turkey Valley as the Trojans move from District 3 to District 2 on Eight-Player football from previous season; however, they are familiar. In the previous cycle, TV was in the same district versus familiar foes.

In District 2 are AGWSR, Clarksville, Janesville, Northwood-Kensett, North Iowa, Riceville, Rockford and Tripoli.