Braxton Smith does head-to-head battle in recent mat action for the Warriors. (Photo courtesy of JScott Images,
Braxton Smith does head-to-head battle in recent mat action for the Warriors. (Photo courtesy of JScott Images,

   After picking up one win over Eagle Grove at the regional dual semifinals, the South Winn wrestling team saw its season terminated by No. 5 Lake Mills Tuesday night.
   The Warriors, ranked No. 8 in the final dual rankings compiled by the Iowa Wrestling Coaches Association and Iowa High School Athletic Association, faced No. 20 Eagle Grove in the regional dual semifinals hosted by Lake Mills. The Warriors defeated Eagle Grove, 42-32.
   In the other semifinal, No. 5 Lake Mills defeated No. 33 North Butler/Clarksville. In the final, Lake Mills knocked out South Winn, 51-18, to earn a bid to the team dual Wednesday, Feb. 14, in Des Moines.
   The night started strong for South Winn with seven Warriors claiming wins over Eagle Grove opponents. Gabe Sadler (126) earned a 15-0 tech fall over Josh Graham to kick off the semifinal dual. Getting in on the action was Logan Schnuelle and 145 pounds as he threw Evan Anderson in 1:28. Also pinning his opponent, Charles Reamer, was SW’s Gabe Kipp in 1:08 at 182 pounds. Damon Meyer (195) followed suit by throwing Dylan Kruckenberg in 1:38. Needing just 43 seconds, Jackson Lukes put Leo Calles’ shoulders to the mat for the win at 285 pounds. Capping off the pins was Felicity Taylor at 106 pounds over Jacob Graham in 1:13. Dawson Huinker picked up a forfeit at 160 pounds for the Warriors.
   Five Warriors picked up wins in the finals versus Lake Mills. Logan Schnuelle (138) earned South Winn’s first win on a 4-3 decision over Kyle Beery. Also picking up a decision was Rodney Schwartzhoff, defeating Elijah Wagner, 7-3, at 160 pounds. Filling the 220-pound division, Manning Kuboushek was the only Warrior to throw his opponent, Max Johnson. The senior picked up the fall in 1:11. On a 3-1 decision, Jackson Lukes defeated Brett Tyler at 285 pounds. Outlasting Jack Ramaker on a 9-6 decision was 106-pounder Felicity Taylor.
   Nine Warriors will compete at the district meet Saturday, Feb. 10, at 12 p.m. in the Luther College Regents Center in Decorah, with the right to go to state on the line. Looking to move on are Felicity Taylor (106), Gabe Sadler (120), Zach Taylor (132), Logan Schnuelle (138), Tanner Tollefsrud (152), Manning Kuboushek (182), Gabe Kipp (195), Damon Meyer (220) and Jackson Lukes (285).