Racing together in the lead pack at Thursday’s UIC meet were (l-r) Toby Conway (SW), Chance Adam (SW), Isaiah Kruckman (SW), Peyton Halverson (NFV), Omar Flores (SW) and Chris Wagner (Kee).(Photo by Becky Walz)
Racing together in the lead pack at Thursday’s UIC meet were (l-r) Toby Conway (SW), Chance Adam (SW), Isaiah Kruckman (SW), Peyton Halverson (NFV), Omar Flores (SW) and Chris Wagner (Kee).(Photo by Becky Walz)

Cool temperatures, rolling hills and lots of fans were on tap for the Upper Iowa Conference cross country meet Thursday in West Union.

Claiming the girls’ title with 57 points was Class 1A No. 4 South Winn, with the host team North Fayette Valley finishing second with 69 points. In the boys’ race it was the reverse, with the Class 2A No. 15 TigerHawks taking the top spot with 30 points. The Warrior boys came home second with 36 points.

All-UIC girls

Class 1A top-ranked Haley Meyer of Kee High blazed the course for gold in 19:22 in the girls’ race. Sprinting to second place was Turkey Valley’s Jalyssa Blazek, ranked No. 2 in Class 1A. The Trojan junior stopped the clock at 19:30. South Winn’s Billie Wagner crossed the finish line third in 19:40 and is currently the No. 3 runner in Class 1A.

South Winn freshman Josie Tieskoetter toured the course in 20:54 to claim fourth place, with Turkey Valley’s Cambree Kruse close behind in fifth place, clocking in at 21:07. Slipping into the sixth position was Hannah Asche of Central in 21:11, just ahead of a TigerHawk trio. Seventh, eighth and ninth places went to North Fayette Valley harriers. Regan Griffith finished the 5K in 21:11, good for seventh, followed by Brynn Gamm in 21:16 and Ava Bilden in 21:20. Rounding out the top 10 was Jaycie Byrne of Turkey Valley in 21:35.

Others area racers earning all-UIC honors for finishing in the top 15 were Kee’s Jaylyn Walleser (11th, 21:46), South Winn’s Megan Hageman (12th, 21:49), Delaney Scherf (13th, 22:18), Kee’s Alison Wagner (14th, 22:20) and MFL MarMac’s Clare Grau (15th, 22:25).

Boys race featured

NFV and South Winn dominated the conference boys’ race, combining to take 10 of the 15 medals.

Leading the field to the finish line in 17:24 was Class 2A No. 24 Peyton Halverson of NFV to win gold. South Winn’s 19th-ranked Omar Flores came home with a silver medal in 17:52, followed by teammate Toby Conway, who took third in 17:54. In fourth was TigerHawk junior Davan Crooker in 17:59. 

Chance Adam of South Winn slid into the fifth position in 18:02. Nathan Crooker was on the course for NFV. His time of 18:06 earned him sixth place. In seventh overall with a time of 18:07 was Kee’s Chris Wagner. Junior Isaiah Kruckman was on the course for the Warriors. He earned eighth place in 18:10. Ninth place went to Clayton Ridge sophomore Keaton Reimer in 18:10. Rounding out the top 10 was NFV’s Caleb Zurbriggen in 18:21, in 10th place.

Just missing the top 10, yet earning an all-UIC nod, was 11th place Ben Miller of NFV in 18:31. The Postville duo of Luis Sajcap and Brandon Herandez crossed the finish line together in 18:59 to take 12th and 13th places, respectively. Korbin Yauk took 14th overall. The TigerHawks capped off the night with a time of 19:15. Claiming the 15th and final all-UIC spot was Clayton Ridge sophomore Gavin Moser in 19:21.


South Winn and Turkey Valley are both in Class 1A and will be competing at Guttenberg Thursday, Oct. 22, at 4 p.m. Other teams racing there will be Alburnett, Central Elkader, Clayton Ridge, Don Bosco, Dunkerton, East Buchanan, Edgewood-Colesburg, Janesville, Kee High, Maquoketa Valley, MFL MarMac, North Linn, Postville, Sumner-Fredericksburg, Tripoli and Wapsie Valley.

North Fayette Valley is in Class 2A and will run at Jesup versus teams from Anamosa, Beckman Catholic, Columbus Catholic, Crestwood, Jesup, New Hampton, Northeast Goose Lake, Oelwein, Osage, Starmont, Tipton, Union and Waukon.