Four Decorah softball players were recently selected to represent the Decorah softball team on the All-Northeast Iowa Conference list for 2019.

Sophomores Avery Shelton and Ella Kittelson, as well as freshman Ellie Luzum, earned their first conference honors of their careers as second team selections. Pipho makes her third appearance on the list with an honorable mention nod.

Second team

Posting a 13-7 record, Avery Shelton twirled the ball for nearly 128 total innings, recording 135 strikeouts and earning a 3.37 ERA (earned run average). The sophomore was powerful at the plate as well, hammering out six home runs and four doubles among her 26 hits. She had a team-high 34 RBI.

Lead-off batter Ella Kittelson finished the season with the team’s best batting average at .391, to accompany a .547 on-base percentage and .494 slugging mark. A mainstay behind the plate, the catcher topped the hits column with 34, including a home run and six doubles, driving in 16 runs.

Right-fielder Ellie Luzum’s .305 batting average put her third on the team with 25 hits with six doubles and a homer. The freshman drove in 15 runs to help the Vikings throughout the season as well.

Honorable mention

Anchoring centerfield, Ambria Pipho earned her third consecutive All-NEIC honor. During the 2019 season, the junior had 20 hits and drove in 10 runs. 

All-NEIC softball

First team – Samantha Heyer, Sr., P, Charles City; Laken Lienhard, Jr. P, Crestwood; Ashlyn Hoeft, Fr., C, Charles City; Lisabeth Fiser, Jr., IF, Charles City; Lauren Frerichs, Sr., IF, New Hampton; Rachel Chambers, Fr., IF, Charles City; Annika Headington, Soph., IF, Waukon; Ashley Voves, Sr., IF, Crestwood; Lydia Staudt, Fr., OF, Charles City; Natalie Hoey, Sr., OF, New Hampton; Molly McNally, Sr., OF, Waverly-Shell Rock; Mercede Tenge, Sr., UT, New Hampton

Second team – Avery Shelton, Soph., P, Decorah; Ella Kittelson, Soph., C, Decorah; Ellie Luzum, Fr., OF, Decorah; Allie Cross, Soph., IF, Charles City; Avery Beckett, Fr., IF, Waverly-Shell Rock; Brigid Berns, Sr., IF, Waukon; Sadie Gebel, Soph., IF, Charles City; Maddie Moorman, Sr., IF, New Hampton; Kiki Connell, Soph., OF, Charles City; Paige Wisner, Sr., OF, New Hampton

Honorable mention – Ambria Pipho, Jr., Decorah; Alexa Wemark, Jr., New Hampton; Annie Mast, Sr., Crestwood; Hailey Regan, Jr., Waukon; Kayla Crooks, Sr., New Hampton; Alex Litterer, Jr., Charles City; Alison Sherman, Jr., Waukon; Carley Jeanes, Sr., Oelwein; Jacey Meier, Sr., Waverly-Shell Rock; Kristen Reicks, Sr., Crestwood