Last week the Des Moines Register named Turkey Valley’s Jalyssa Blazek and South Winn’s Billie Wagner to the All-Iowa girls’ cross country teams for the 2019 season.

The teams include a five-person Elite Team, made up of the state’s best runners, regardless of class, as well as first-team selections for all four of Iowa’s classes. The teams were picked based on state tournament results, observations from Register and Iowa City Press-Citizen staff writers and consultations from coaches around the state.

Blazek, a sophomore, qualified for her second straight state meet, finishing on the deck both times. In November, Blazek finished third in Class 1A in a time of 18:54, improving from her sixth-place finish as a freshman.

Wagner, a Warrior freshman, dominated many races throughout the 2019 season, including a win at the Class 1A state-qualifying race in Cedar Falls. At state, Wagner posted her best time of the season in 19:02.6, the second-fastest time in school history.